A Demonstration Project: How Active Data Can be Shaped and Provide Strong Evidence-Based Programming

Data on its own is not enough. Cutting edge research methods often generate powerful insight for stakeholders in the moment but then the data is lost. In the meantime often data is captured for specific purposes and could be misrepresented and harmful to participants if it were to be shared in other contexts. 

The amount of data available to programmes is constantly increasing, but with it there are still challenges related to data management, interpretation, sharing and ethics. In an attempt to make better use of what is available, IDS is leading on a pilot programme which examines sets of participatory and systemic data  with a view to increase understanding of how data is collected, analysed and shared in development programming. 

 

Key contact

Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alice Webb photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915803

E: a.webb@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Danny Burns, IDS Participation, Power and Social Change Team leader

T: +44 (0)1273 915612

E: d.burns@ids.ac.uk

More details
Marina Apgar photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915778

E: m.apgar@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44 (0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
Project Dates:
May 2017 - April 2018
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
The Omidyar Group
Research Themes / Programmes:
Digital technologies and ICTs
Participatory methodologies