Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA)

Agricultural Policy Research in Africa (APRA) is a five-year research programme, which builds on more than a decade of research and policy engagement work by the Future Agricultures Consortium. The aim of the project is to produce new information and insights into different pathways to agricultural commercialisation in order to assess their impacts and outcomes on rural poverty, empowerment of women and girls, and food and nutrition security in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The programme will focus on four main objectives:

  1. Generating high-quality evidence on pathways to agricultural commercialisation in Africa, using a rigorous mix of quantitative and qualitative methods;
  2. Undertaking policy research on agricultural commercialisation to fill key evidence gaps and define policy options;
  3. Ensuring the sharing and uptake of research by a diverse range of stakeholders;
  4. Strengthening the capacity of the research team, and associated partner institutions, to deliver policy-relevant research and advice.

Operating across three complimentary work streams, the APRA programme will work in six focal countries, Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, Nigeria, Tanzania and Zimbabwe, with two additional countries, Kenya and Mozambique.

The consortium includes regional hubs at the Centre for African Bio-Entrepreneurship (CABE), Kenya, the Institute for Poverty, Land and Agrarian Studies (PLAAS), South Africa, and the University of Ghana, Legon, as well as partners at Lund University, Sweden, and Michigan State University and Tufts University, USA.

Key contacts

Photo of John Thompson, a Research Fellow in the IDS Rural Futures research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915682

E: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lesley White

E: l.white@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Amrita Saha

T: +44 (0)1273 915757

E: a.saha@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ian Scoones, Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915679

E: i.scoones@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jim Sumberg, Research Fellow with the Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915833

E: j.sumberg@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jodie Thorpe, Globalisation research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915732

E: j.thorpe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Justin Flynn, Rural Futures Research Officer

E: j.flynn2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lars Otto Naess

T: +44 (0)1273 915849

E: l.naess@ids.ac.uk

More details
Lidia Cabral photo

E: l.cabral@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Mar Maestre Morales, Globalisation

T: +44 (0)1273 915724

E: m.maestremorales@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Oliver Burch

T: +44 (0)1273 915670

E: o.burch@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS Research Fellow Seife Ayele

T: +44 (0)1273 915806

E: s.ayele@ids.ac.uk

More details