Democratisation, Decentralisation, Local Governance: IDS-SDC Collaboration

The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation's (SDC) Democratisation, Decentralisation and Local Governance Network (DDLGN) is a platform of about 220 SDC staff, implementing partners and affiliates working on local governance, decentralisation, and democratisation around the world. This project follows on from two successful phases of cooperation between IDS and DDLGN through the projects 'The Governance of Service Delivery' and 'Innovative Ways in Supporting Decentralised and Democratic Local Governance'.

The aim of this third phase of cooperation between IDS and SDC is to provide resesarch support, share learning and collaborate on policy engagement in priority areas of decentralised and democratic local governance, such as:

  • Parliamentary support, political parties and elections
  • Fiscal decentralisation and Public financial management
  • Women's political empowerment
  • Independent media
  • Conflict and fragility
  • Social inclusion
  • Anticorruption
  • Political economy and power analysis tools and methodologies

Key contacts

Photo of Anuradha Joshi, IDS researcher

T: +44 (0)1273 915710

E: a.joshi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Miguel Loureiro photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915707

E: m.loureiro@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elizabeth O'Brien

T: +44 (0)1273 915813

E: e.o'brien@ids.ac.uk

More details
Gauthier Marchais, Research Fellow in the Conflict and Violence research cluster at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915731

E: g.marchais@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Giulia Mascagni

T: +44 (0)1273 915765

E: g.mascagni@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shandana Mohmand

T: +44 (0)1273 915720

E: s.mohmand@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sohela Nazneen

T: +44 (0)1273 915609

E: s.nazneen@ids.ac.uk

More details