GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE FOR GLOBAL CHANGE

Development Studies Learning Partnership

The Development Studies Learning Partnership was created under the IDS BRICS Initiative in 2011, enabling collaborative learning between traditional and emerging actors in development, be they academics, researchers, practitioners or policymakers.

Background to the partnership

The rapidly growing global and political influence of rising powers such as the BRICS countries - Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa - has been accompanied by rapid domestic growth and increased Foreign Direct Investment abroad. At the same time, the rising powers' role in international development cooperation has been formally recognised by 'traditional donors' clubs' such as the OECD-DAC.

Equally importantly, many of the rising powers have made significant advances in their national development and poverty reduction. As these countries become increasingly active as donors, they are seen to challenge the fifty year old paradigm of development and aid relations that emerged at the end of the colonial era. This raises important issues for debates on the future practice, policy, and study of international development cooperation.

IDS recognises the impact these geo-political changes have on the theory and practice of Development Studies (DS), and has designed the Development Studies Learning Partnership as a space which allows for collaborative learning, where IDS can formally incorporate learning from the BRICS and Rising Powers whilst sharing it's considerable expertise in DS. This mutual learning is the basis for a shared new approach to Development Studies.

Teaching and Learning Fellows

  • Dr. Alexander Bulatov is Head of the Department of World Economy at MGIMO University in Moscow, Russia.
  • Professor Xiuli Xu is Associate Professor of Development Studies at the Research Center for International Development (RCID), College of Humanities and Development Studies (COHD), China Agricultural University (CAU), Beijing, China.
  • Dr Yuriy Zaitsev is a researcher at the Institute of Applied Economic Studies, Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration, Moscow, Russia.

The DSLP launches annual calls for Teaching and Learning Fellows to work with IDS researchers on developing open-access teaching and training resources that draw on development experiences from the Rising Powers.

The call for proposals for the 2014-2015 academic year is now open. Researchers interested in applying should contact Louise Oakley.

Key contact

Photo of Louise Oakley

E: l.oakley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Anuradha Joshi, IDS researcher

T: +44 (0)1273 915710

E: a.joshi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deepta Chopra, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915808

E: d.chopra@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jennifer Constantine

E: j.constantine@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jeremy Allouche, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915834

E: j.allouche@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jim Sumberg, Research Fellow with the Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915833

E: j.sumberg@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jing Gu

T: +44 (0)1273 915692

E: j.gu@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of John Humphrey, IDS Globalisation Team Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915694

E: j.humphrey@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Linda Waldman, KNOTS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915685

E: l.waldman@ids.ac.uk

More details