Future Health Systems Research Programme Consortium

Future Health Systems is a research consortium working to improve access, affordability and quality of health services for the poor. We are a partnership of leading research institutes from across the globe working in a variety of contexts: in low-income countries (Bangladesh, Uganda), middle-income countries (China, India) and fragile states (Afghanistan) to build resilient health systems for the future.

Future Health Systems - Innovations for equity

After a successful first five-year phase from 2006-2011 (see our success stories), we are now in the second phase of research (ending December 2016), funded mainly by the UK Department of International Development (DFID).

Visit the Future Health Systems website

Key contacts

Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Tom Barker is the Senior Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915717

E: t.barker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annie Wilkinson

E: a.wilkinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details

E: h.standing@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Leah Murphy is the Health and Education Convenor with the Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915775

E: l.murphy@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Marsden, IDS research officer

E: s.marsden@ids.ac.uk

More details

Building a Resilient Health System: Lessons from Northern Nigeria

IDS Working Paper 454 (2015)
McKenzie, A., Abdulwahab, A., Sokpo, E. and Mecaskey, J.W.

Strengthening Health Systems for Resilience

IDS Practice Paper in Brief 18 (2015)
Bloom, G., MacGregor, H., McKenzie, A. and Sokpo, E.

Transforming Health Systems to Serve the Wellbeing of Indigenous and Minority People

(2012)
Oosterhoff, P., Burns, D., van der Kwaak, A., Shankland, A. and Lopez, A.

Health markets and future health systems: innovation for equity

Global Forum Update on Research for Health 5 (2008)
Bloom, G. Champion, C. Lucas, H., Rahman, M.H., Bhuiya, A., Oladepo, O. and Peters, D.

Future Health Systems: Why Future? Why Now?

Social Science and Medicine 66.10 (2008)
Bloom, G. and Standing, H.

Rethinking Future Health Systems. Forthcoming in Special Issue on Future Health Systems

Social Science and Medicine 66.10 (2008)
Bloom, G. and Lloyd, G.

Exploring Health Systems Research and its Influence on Policy Processes in Low Income Countries

BMC Public Health 7.309 (2007)
Bloom, G., Hyder, A., Leach, M., Syed, S., Peters, D. and Future Health Systems: Innovations for Equity
Project Dates:
April 2011 - September 2016
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
Department for International Development (DFID)
Research Themes / Programmes:
BRICS and Rising Powers
Future Health Systems Research Programme Consortium
Health