Global Open Knowledge Hub

The Global Open Knowledge Hub (GOKH) aims to improve the supply and accessibility of content that supports evidence informed policy making and practice by development actors. The project will build on IDS Knowledge Services Open Development programme and contributes to the UK Government's Open Data Initiative.

Oriel Open Knowledge Hub logo

Following on from the successful Mobilising Knowledge for Development (MK4D) GOKH will produce the Oriel Open Knowledge Hub, an Open Data platform for sharing and downloading digital content. Raising the profile of diverse perspectives on development and encouraging the contribution of content from the South will be a key aspect of the Hub, recognising that digital divides can be recreated within an Open Data environment.

Through peer support and shared learning, IDS and its partners will increase their capacity to engage and innovate with Open Data and Open Content. IDS' own knowledge and information services - BLDS, Bridge and Eldis - will be the first to contribute to the hub. 

IDS will then be joined by partners who are commited to making their context available as Open Content. Organisations who share the goal of raising the profile of Southern perspectives on development are particularly encouraged to contribute their content. 

Since November 2013 Eldis has been working with eight partner organisations to build on the collaborative aspects of the project:

We will be issuing additional calls and inviting new partners to join us in 2014.

Learn more

Read Oriel Open Knowledge Hub at a Glance (pdf).

Key contacts

Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0) 1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Adrian Bannister from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915815

E: a.bannister@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Helen Bailey

T: +44 (0)1273 915728

E: h.bailey@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jas Vaghadia

T: +44 (0)1273 915683

E: j.vaghadia@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44(0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 606261

More details
Project Dates:
April 2014 - April 2016
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
UKaid