Human Development Innovation Fund

The Human Development Innovation Fund (HDIF) identifies and supports innovations that have the potential to create social impact in education, health and WASH (water, sanitation and hygiene) across Tanzania. The fund awards grants to private sector, civil society and research organizations to develop and implement innovative products and services in these areas.

The programme also works to strengthen the Tanzanian political, social and economic environment within which innovations are developed and adopted. By working with key players in research, development, entrepreneurship and technology, HDIF inspires current and future leaders in Tanzania to take risks on new ideas, to collaborate across sectors, and to transform Tanzania by taking innovative ideas to scale. The programme aims to foster a network of people and organizations who have strong ideas and will challenge the status quo.

Using the HDIF consortium of technical and academic partners and consultants, the programme generates and disseminates lessons and recommendations about innovation to policymakers, civil society and government. In this area of the programme, HDIF draws heavily on IDS experience in Knowledge Mobilisation.

HDIF also works with the IDS team to provide support to the Tanzanian Commission on Science and Technology (COSTECH), helping it to fulfil its national knowledge management role in Tanzania.

Together, all these components are designed to improve the innovation environment in Tanzania by accelerating the diffusion of innovative ideas, approaches and solutions, as well as by stimulating debates, conversations and policymaking in support of innovation in human development. In addition, HDIF also aims to improve basic services in the core focus areas of health, education and WASH, ultimately contributing to improvements in human development outcomes.

Key contact

Photo of Alistair Scott

T: +44 (0)1273 915790

E: a.scott@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915818

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Helen Bailey

T: +44 (0)1273 915728

E: h.bailey@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of James Georgalakis

T: +44 (0)1273 915781

E: j.georgalakis@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kat Pittore

T: +44 (0)1273 915750

E: k.pittore@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915809

E: s.tovell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Project Dates:
January 2015 - September 2018
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
Palladium
Research Themes / Programmes:
Health
Water and Sanitation