The Impact Initiative

A major new four year initiative that will seek to maximise the impact of research funded by the ESRC DFID Strategic Partnership. The Impact Initiative will focus on providing support to both the ESRC-DFID Joint Fund for Poverty Alleviation Research and the Raising Learning Outcomes in Education Systems Research programme.

The Impact Initiative will take full advantage of the extensive research and policy networks that IDS and Cambridge are connected into throughout the world to support the coordination of targeted engagement initiatives, such as policy roundtables and practitioner workshops in low income countries, and the facilitation of global networking and knowledge sharing events.

It will also develop programme-level research communication outputs in order to ensure the ESRC-DFID funded programmes’ research is effectively communicated and shared, and to raise the profile of the programmes themselves. The initiative will commission outputs such as synthesis reports, policy briefs and data visualisations, and disseminate these to targeted audiences of policy actors, practitioners and intermediaries.

Key contact

Photo of James Georgalakis

T: +44 (0)1273 915781

E: j.georgalakis@ids.ac.uk

More details
Emma Greengrass is the Learning Coordinator within the Open Knowledge and Digital Services unit at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915825

E: e.greengrass@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of John Thompson, a Research Fellow in the IDS Rural Futures research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915682

E: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Patricia Justino, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915752

E: p.justino@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915809

E: s.tovell@ids.ac.uk

More details

Partner organisations

Project Dates:
March 2015 - March 2019
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
ESRC-DFID