The World Social Science Report 2015-2016

The regular preparation of a World Social Science Report (WSSR) on global priority topics is a flagship activity of the International Social Science Council (ISSC).

At the request of UNESCO, the ISSC prepared the first WSSR on 'Knowledge Divides' in 2010. The report focusd on the divides that characterise the production, dissemination and use of social sciences and aspects that fundamentally undermine their ability to respond to global challenges. The second World Social Science Rport on 'Changing Global Environments' was co-published in November 2013 with UNESCO and OECD. It provides a rich and contextually sensitive social understanding of the aactual and unfolding impacts of climate and broader global environmental change on different groups of people, particularly the most vulnerable, in different parts of the world.

The next World Social Science Report due to be published in 2016 will focus on the critical contemporary issues of inequalities and justice. The 2016 WSSR will be available for free download on ISSC, IDS and possibly UNESCO websites.

Key contacts

Photo of John Gaventa

E: j.gaventa@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Melissa Leach, IDS Director

T: +44 (0)1273 915674

E: m.leach@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annie Wilkinson

E: a.wilkinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Anuradha Joshi, IDS researcher

T: +44 (0)1273 915710

E: a.joshi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915818

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Bruno Martorano

E: b.martorano@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deepta Chopra, IDS Governance and Gender / Sexuality Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915808

E: d.chopra@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ian Scoones, Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915679

E: i.scoones@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jerker Edstrom

T: +44 (0)1273 915672

E: j.edstrom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jing Gu

T: +44 (0)1273 915692

E: j.gu@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jodie Thorpe, Globalisation research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915732

E: j.thorpe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of John Thompson, a Research Fellow in the IDS Rural Futures research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915682

E: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Keetie Roelen, Research Fellow in the Centre for Social Protection, IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915824

E: k.roelen@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kevin Hernandez, IDS

T: + 44(0)1273 915823

E: k.hernandez2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lizbeth Navas-Aleman

E: l.navas-aleman@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher, Mariz Tadros

T: +44 (0)1273 915829

E: m.tadros@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: mlipton@onetel.com

More details
Photo of Mick Moore, Professorial Fellow with Governance team

T: +44 (0)1273 915715

E: m.moore@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Patricia Justino, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915752

E: p.justino@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sir Richard Jolly

T: +44 (0)1273 915880

E: r.jolly@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sohela Nazneen

T: +44 (0)1273 915609

E: s.nazneen@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Professor Stephany Griffith-Jones - Economist

E: s.griffith-jones@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Stephen Devereux, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915813

E: s.devereux@ids.ac.uk

More details
Project Dates:
March 2015 - June 2016
Project Status:
Open
Total project value:
€ 227,787
Funder:
International Social Science Council
Research Themes / Programmes:
Poverty
Poverty, Inequality and Wellbeing