Tomorrow Today

Tomorrow Today is a horizon scanning programme designed to support the preliminary but systematic exploration of new and emergent policy issues. Tomorrow Today provides a mechanism to think systematically about future opportunities and challenges.

In a complex and dynamic world emerging trends, issues and crises have the potential to impact significantly on development processes, and thus on lives and livelihoods. Effective short- and medium-term horizon scanning is thus essential. New tools, approaches and methods are needed to allow governments, donors, NGOs and businesses to scan, to act and to measure impact.

Tomorrow Today includes the following projects:

Convened by Jim Sumberg

Key contact

Photo of Jim Sumberg, Research Fellow with the Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915833

E: j.sumberg@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dominic Glover

E: d.glover@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Evangelia Berdou, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915652

E: e.berdou@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jeremy Allouche, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915834

E: j.allouche@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Keetie Roelen, Research Fellow in the Centre for Social Protection, IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915824

E: k.roelen@ids.ac.uk

More details
Stephen Spratt, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915799

E: s.spratt@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Terry Cannon, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915812

E: t.cannon@ids.ac.uk

More details

What Drives Wind and Solar Energy Investment in India and China?

IDS Evidence Report 87 (2014)
Spratt, S., Dong, W., Krishna, C., Sagar, A. and Ye, Q.

The Potential and Limits of the ‘Resilience Agenda’ in Peri-urban Contexts

IDS Policy Briefing 63 (2014)
Béné, C., Cannon, T., Gupte, J., Mehta, L. and Tanner, T.

Exploring the Potential and Limits of the Resilience Agenda in Rapidly Urbanising Contexts

IDS Evidence Report 63 (2014)
Béné, C., Cannon, T., Gupte, J., Mehta, L. and Tanner, T.
Project Dates:
March 2013 - March 2016
Project Status:
Open
Funder:
Department for International Development (DFID)
Research Themes / Programmes:
Policy Anticipation, Response and Evaluation