GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE FOR GLOBAL CHANGE

British Library for Development Studies

The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) holds Europe's largest collection on economic and social research. These unique holdings, built up over 40 years, consist of approximately one million items held in over four miles of shelving space. Over half the collection originates from developing countries and much of this is unavailable in other European or US libraries.

BLDS is freely open for reference purposes to anyone wishing to use the resources in person. It is also possible to take out paid membership, allowing borrowing.

BLDS also runs a number of global outreach programmes including:

  • Information literacy programme which delivers workshops, develops new training tools and supports learning communities to strengthen the information literacy skills of researchers, policymakers and practitioners in the South
  • Digitising and profiling southern research in collaboration with institutions across Asia and sub-Saharan Africa
  • Publication exchange programme with a range of institutions in over 30 countries
  • Free document delivery service to research organisations in the South, delivered in partnership with the Global Development Network.

To search the BLDS catalogue or read more about the global programmes, please visit the BLDS website.

Team Members

Emma Greengrass is the Library Admin Assistant at the British Library for Development Studies at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915825

E: e.greengrass@ids.ac.uk

More details
Helen Rehin, British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915660

E: h.rehin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Henry Rowsell, Aquisitions Librarian BLDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915661

E: h.rowsell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ian Budden, Senior Librarian at British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915651

E: i.budden@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jenny Brooks, a Senior Library Assistant (Teaching Services) at the British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915650

E: j.brookes@ids.ac.uk

More details
John Brownlee is the Partnership and Capacity Development Senior Convenor at the British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915848

E: j.brownlee@ids.ac.uk

More details
Karen Butcher is the Acquisitions Assistant at the British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915701

E: k.butcher@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nason Bimbe, BLDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915794

E: n.bimbe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Playforth

T: +44 (0)1273 915648

E: r.playforth@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Siobhan Duvigneau, British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915796

E: s.duvigneau@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915662

E: s.watson2@ids.ac.uk

More details

Strengthening information literacy interventions: creative approaches to teaching and learning

Given the wide range of initiatives being carried out on information literacy in higher educational and research institutions in Africa, there is a need to consolidate and share their learning. This workshop report, by the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) and Information Training and Outreach Centre for Africa (ITOCA), discusses some of the latest innovations and approaches being used to develop information literacy across Southern Africa. More details

Library (BLDS)

Visit the British Library for Development Studies website