Business, Markets and the State

The debate on business, markets and states in development has a long history, marked by enormous controversy. Many problems of underdevelopment result from market failures, and often business has contributed to these failures, leading to a backlash against markets and against business.

More recently, there has been recognition that business and markets have a major impact on human development and the natural environment, with new market-focused solutions, initiatives and partnerships emerging. However, there are big knowledge gaps.

This IDS cluster will investigate how and under what conditions businesses and market systems enable or constrain pathways that deliver development and curb inequalities, and the role of the state in these processes, and is currently developing its programme of work through the IDS Business and Development Centre.

IDS Business and Development Centre

With a focus on priorities for research and practical action, the Business and Development Centre will generate new evidence on:

  • impacts of business and markets on development and inequality
  • most effective areas for business and markets to play a positive role
  • the role of states regulators, enablers and partners.

Sign up to receive updates and follow us on Twitter.

Key contact

Photo of Jodie Thorpe, Globalisation research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915732

E: j.thorpe@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Amrita Saha

T: +44 (0)1273 915757

E: a.saha@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ana Pueyo

T: +44 (0)1273 915681

E: a.pueyo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carlos Fortin

T: +44 (0)1273 915608

E: c.fortin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dirk Willenbockel

T: +44 (0)1273 915700

E: d.willenbockel@ids.ac.uk

More details
Honorary Associate Ted Jackson

E: t.jackson@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elise Wach, Evaluation and Learning Advisor with the Impact and Learning Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915678

E: e.wach@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Giel Ton

T: +44 (0)1273 915756

E: g.ton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jing Gu

T: +44 (0)1273 915692

E: j.gu@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jodie Thorpe, Globalisation research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915732

E: j.thorpe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lizbeth Navas-Aleman

E: l.navas-aleman@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Mar Maestre Morales, Globalisation

T: +44 (0)1273 915724

E: m.maestremorales@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Philip Mader, Research Fellow, Business, Markets and the State

T: +44 (0)1273 915646

E: p.mader@ids.ac.uk

More details
Raphie Kaplinsky Emeritus Fellow

E: r.kaplinsky@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sir Richard Jolly

T: +44 (0)1273 915880

E: r.jolly@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS Research Fellow Seife Ayele

T: +44 (0)1273 915806

E: s.ayele@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Spencer Henson, Globalisation Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915691

E: s.henson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Professor Stephany Griffith-Jones - Economist

E: s.griffith-jones@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Stephen Spratt, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915799

E: s.spratt@ids.ac.uk

More details
< previous 1 2 next >

Strengthening the Capacity of the International Poverty Reduction Center in China for South-South Cooperation

This project, funded by the Chinese Government's Ministry Of Commerce, is aimed at addressing how IDA is given to developing countries (particularly Africa) and if there are ways of improving China's development assistance to create opportunities for independent development. More details

< previous 1 2 next >
first < previous 1 2 3 4 5 next > last

Approaching Markets in Rapidly Growing Cities

20 Jul 2017
By Maria del Mar Maestre Morales, Gordon McGranahan, Eric Kasper

Africa's engagement with China and the G20

30 Jun 2017
By Emilie Wilson

Can “markets” include and benefit very marginalised people?

02 May 2017
By Jodie Thorpe, Zenebe Uraguchi

Beyond the paid economy: unpaid care work and women’s empowerment

26 Apr 2017
By Maria del Mar Maestre Morales

What do food systems have to do with urbanisation?

10 Apr 2017
By Maria del Mar Maestre Morales, Katherine Pittore

Why Davos should be talking about Disability

19 Jan 2017
By Jodie Thorpe
first < previous 1 2 3 4 5 next > last

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: