Communications and Engagement Unit

The Communications and Engagement Unit focuses on corporate communication, marketing and policy engagement that requires centralised coordination, planning and delivery.

The multi-disciplinary team is responsible for helping to increase the institute's capability to communicate effectively with a wide range of external audiences and to ensure our profile and identity reflect our values and strategy.

The Unit plays a key part in promoting IDS products and services, particularly our teaching and learning programme. It manages a dynamic publishing programme, including IDS's journal which is transitioning to become a digital open access resource, IDS's web and social media strategies and institute level policy engagement and media relations activities. The Unit also supports IDS's convening role through its coordination of an extensive programme of roundtables, seminars and public lectures.

Key contact

Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Alison Norwood photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915641

E: a.norwood@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Beth Mudford, Communications team

T: +44 (0)1273 915655

E: b.mudford@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carol Smithyes from the IDS Communications team

T: +44 (0)1273 915638

E: c.smithyes@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah Shenton, Team Administrative Coordinator, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction

T: +44 (0)1273 915760

E: d.shenton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Gary Edwards is the Marketing and Database Coordinator, Communications Team

T: + 44 (0)1273 915637

E: g.edwards@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Robin Coleman, Web Editor and Online Communications officer

T: +44 (0)1273 915635

E: r.coleman@ids.ac.uk

More details
staff

T: +44 (0)1273 915649

E: s.king@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Robinson

T: +44 (0)1273 915763

E: s.s.robinson@ids.ac.uk

More details

Health Systems Global Communications

IDS is working with Health Systems Global (HSG) to develop communications, share messages and engage with its members and the global community. More details

AllAfrica and IDS development reporting initiative

IDS and AllAfrica have teamed up to produce and distribute compelling multi-media content on critical issues for Africa’s future, as part of a development reporting initiative. More details

View all this team's publications

Use this search to display all publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this unit's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: