Conflict and Violence

Almost one third of the world's population live in conflict-affected low-income countries. Yet little is known about the effects of conflict on household welfare, behaviour and poverty. The Conflict and Violence Research Cluster is developing new insights into how people live and interact in contexts of conflict and violence, and what institutions best support them.

Youths with panga knives, bows and arrows and corrugated metal shields clash on the streets of Nakuru. Ethnic violence sparked last December following protests against disputed election results, after suspected vote rigging by Kikuyu President Mwai Kibaki. Copyright: Frederic Courbet/PANOS

Our research focuses on important micro-level local dynamics of violent conflict and the choices and constraints facing individual people and communities, which are shaped by wider political and development dynamics and processes and longer economic transitions. We seek to influence policy and programming processes, through the development of relevant policies and approaches for working in and on conflict and through building partnerships with development practitioners.

Our research will help develop policies and practices that strengthen people’s efforts to secure their own lives and livelihoods. Our research themes include:

  • How people live in areas of violent conflict,
  • Governance and institutional change in areas of conflict,
  • Long-term human capital outcomes and conflict exposure,
  • Conflict and gender-based violence.

Related resources

Image: Frederick Courbet / Panos

Key contact

Photo of Patricia Justino, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915752

E: p.justino@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Alia Aghajanian PhD student

E: a.aghajanian@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Mitchell

T: +44 (0)1273 915706

E: b.mitchell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Brigette Rohwerder

T: +44 (0)1273 915787

E: b.rohwerder@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Bruno Martorano

E: b.martorano@ids.ac.uk

More details
Dr. Caitriona Dowd, Research Fellow in Conflict and Violence cluster at IDS.

T: +44 (0)1273 915703

E: c.dowd@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Camilla Lindstrom

E: c.lindstrom2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carol Smithyes from the IDS Communications and Engagement Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915638

E: c.smithyes@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah Shenton, Team Administrative Coordinator, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction

T: +44 (0)1273 915760

E: d.shenton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah West

T: +44 (0)1273 915688

E: d.west@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Freida M'Cormack

E: f.mcormack@ids.ac.uk

More details
Gauthier Marchais, Research Fellow in the Conflict and Violence research cluster at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915731

E: g.marchais@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jaideep Gupte, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915656

E: j.gupte@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jeremy Allouche, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915834

E: j.allouche@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher, Mariz Tadros

T: +44 (0)1273 915829

E: m.tadros@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Marjoke Oosterom, Post Doctoral Researcher with the Participation, Power and Social Change research team

E: m.oosterom@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.tauson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Patricia Justino, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915752

E: p.justino@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Patta Scott-Villiers

T: +44 (0)1273 915616

E: p.scott-villiers@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Robin Luckham

T: +44 (0)1273 915712

E: r.luckham@ids.ac.uk

More details
Sandra Baxter is Manager for the Human Development Resource Centre, and works in IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915788

E: s.baxter@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shandana Mohmand

T: +44 (0)1273 915720

E: s.mohmand@ids.ac.uk

More details
< previous 1 2 next >

Changing Livelihoods in Darfur Since 2005

Assessing current livelihood strategies and options available to vulnerable communities living in Darfur. More details

MICROCON

A five-year research programme, taking an innovative micro level, multidisciplinary approach to studying the conflict cycle. More details

Improving access to livelihoods, jobs and basic services in violent contexts

Expanding access to work and services, such as public utilities and safe and reliable transportation, are important elements of any approach to strengthen security in poor urban neighbourhoods. More details

< previous 1 2 next >

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Sign up for e-alerts

Get e-alerts for updates on Conflict and Violence

Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: