Digital and Technology

Opportunities from mobile phone and new digital platforms connectivity are fundamentally changing how individual citizens, the civil society, states and markets relate. New methods of communication, expression and advocacy, such as crowdsourcing, and new forms of data (like ‘big data’) are redefining how we perceive citizen demands and poverty.

data visualisation. Credit: Cory M. Grenier on flickr

The Digital and Technology cluster research has four broad thematic areas of focus in line with the broader IDS strategy. These are:

  • digital economy;
  • digital government and service delivery;
  • digital citizenship and rights;
  • and digital sustainability and resilience.

Our research will challenge prevailing technocratic views by highlighting inequalities that Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) may cause. We have experts in the fields of health and nutrition, urban and rural development, responsive governance, citizenship, and research communication who seek to advance conversations and practices within and across sectors.

Image: Cory M. Grenier (flickr)

Key contact

Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alistair Scott

T: +44 (0)1273 915790

E: a.scott@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annie Wilkinson

E: a.wilkinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carol Smithyes from the IDS Communications team

T: +44 (0)1273 915638

E: c.smithyes@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah Shenton, Team Administrative Coordinator, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction

T: +44 (0)1273 915760

E: d.shenton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Duncan Edwards, ICTs Innovations Manager

T: +44 (0)1273 915797

E: d.edwards@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Evangelia Berdou, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915652

E: e.berdou@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hani Morsi

E: h.morsi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details

E: h.standing@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Inka Barnett

T: +44 (0)1273 915754

E: inkab@ids.ac.uk

More details
John Brownlee is the Partnership and Capacity Development Senior Convenor at the British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915848

E: j.brownlee@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kevin Hernandez, IDS

E: k.hernandez@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Linda Waldman, KNOTS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915685

E: l.waldman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Martin Greeley, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915749

E: m.greeley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nason Bimbe, BLDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915794

E: n.bimbe@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915802

E: p.mungroo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Pedro Prieto Martin, Research Officer, Digital and Technology research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915699

E: p.prietomartin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44 (0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
photo of Shilpi Srivastava

T: +44 (0)1273 915859

E: s.srivastava@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Siobhan Duvigneau, British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915796

E: s.duvigneau@ids.ac.uk

More details
Stephen Spratt, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915799

E: s.spratt@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tony Roberts, IDS research fellow, Digital

E: t.roberts@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tracy Zussman

T: +44 (0)1273 915780

E: t.zussman@ids.ac.uk

More details

Making All Voices Count

Making All Voices Count: A Grand Challenge for Development (MAVC) is a four-year $45 million fund to support innovation, scaling-up, and research that will deepen existing innovations and help harness new technologies to enable citizen engagement and government responsiveness. More details

Not Just Talk: Practice, Power, Knowledge and Information and Communication Technologies (TPPI)

Not Just Talk: Practice, Power, Knowledge and Information and Communication Technologies is a new IDS research initiative that seeks to critically examine the opportunities and challenges that the new generation of ICT innovations pose for poor and vulnerable groups. More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: