Digital and Technology

Advancing knowledge, shaping policy and inspiring practice on digital development is critical to achieving the Institute of Development Studies’ vision of reducing inequalities, accelerating sustainability, and building secure and inclusive societies.

BANGLADESH Dhaka
A member of the medical staff keeping notes on a hand held device at the International Centre for Diarrhoea Disease Research (ICCDDR). The ICDDR is an international health research organisation established in 1978 and credited with discovering oral dehydration therapy for the treatment of diarrhoea and cholera.
Credit
G.M.B. Akash / Panos

Over the past two decades the digital revolution has ushered in transformative changes to the ways we communicate and organise, with many cascading effects across social, economic and political spheres. With the advent of newer developments, including artificial intelligence, 3D printing and robotics, yet more profound changes are anticipated in the years and decades to come.

Our cutting-edge research and analysis on the reality of digital development provides insights and ideas for policymakers and practitioners within development and humanitarian organisations seeking to better understand and realise the promise of the digital revolution for poor and marginalised communities.

Recent highlights from the Digital and Technology Cluster

Collaboration for impact

The quality and impact of our work depends upon us collaborating with governments, international NGOs, local civil society, citizens, donors, businesses and many others to achieve positive change, strategically informed by research and knowledge.

Consulting services

Our consulting services focus on our clients’ most critical issues and opportunities surrounding digital strategies for human development. We bring strong technical, cross-disciplinary expertise grounded in real-world experience and are known for bringing a holistic lens that acknowledges the economic, political and social contexts of digital development. We work with a wide range of clients on both short and long-term projects. Recent clients include the UK Department for International Development, USAID, German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ) and Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

 

Image: GMB Akash / Panos

Key contacts

Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915818

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Faith, Research Officer, Digital and Technology research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915844

E: b.faith@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alistair Scott

T: +44 (0)1273 915790

E: a.scott@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Faith, Research Officer, Digital and Technology research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915844

E: b.faith@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ben Ramalingam, Digital cluster research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915818

E: b.ramalingam@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah Shenton, Team Administrative Coordinator, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction

T: +44 (0)1273 915760

E: d.shenton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah West

T: +44 (0)1273 915688

E: d.west@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Duncan Edwards, ICTs Innovations Manager

T: +44 (0)1273 915797

E: d.edwards@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hani Morsi

E: h.morsi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Inka Barnett

T: +44 (0)1273 915754

E: i.barnett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kevin Hernandez, IDS

T: + 44(0)1273 915823

E: k.hernandez2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Linda Waldman, KNOTS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915685

E: l.waldman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Martin Greeley, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915749

E: m.greeley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Pedro Prieto Martin, Research Officer, Digital and Technology research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915699

E: p.prietomartin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44 (0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
Stephen Spratt, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915799

E: s.spratt@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tony Roberts, IDS research fellow, Digital

T: +44 (0)1273 915642

E: t.roberts@ids.ac.uk

More details

Human Development Innovation Fund

The Human Development Innovation Fund (HDIF) identifies and supports innovations that have the potential to create social impact in education, health and WASH (water, sanitation and hygiene) across Tanzania. More details

Digital Development: IDS and DFAT InnovationXchange collaboration

This six month collaboration between the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade's InnovationXchange (iXc) and the Digital and Technology cluster will strengthen DFAT’s capability to appropriately use technology to more effectively deliver aid outcomes, building on its existing expertise and experience. More details

mSTAR Real Time Data for Adaptive Programming Conceptual Framework

The project will focus on the growing importance of real-time data and in particular how digital tools can be used to generate information in support of more adaptive, contextually relevant, decision-making and programme management and implementation More details

Making All Voices Count

Making All Voices Count: A Grand Challenge for Development (MAVC) is a four-year $45 million fund to support innovation, scaling-up, and research that will deepen existing innovations and help harness new technologies to enable citizen engagement and government responsiveness. More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Get our newsletter

Sign up for regular news updates from the Digital and Technology cluster

Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: