Gender and Sexuality

IDS is well known for its progressive gender research, knowledge sharing and teaching, and for the central role it has played in the conceptual shift from a 'women in development' to a 'gender and development' focus, as well as for critically bringing sexuality and masculinities into gender theory, research and practice.

Graffiti image in New York

Since the 1970s, IDS has been at the forefront of challenges to individualised 'women-centric' understandings of gender and sexuality, holding up for scrutiny the 'myths' and narratives that have so often (mis)informed gender and development policy and practice, in order to inspire more inclusive approaches that have agency and diversity at their heart and tackle the drivers of gendered inequalities.

Originating in feminist thought and practice and seeing the personal as political, this agenda has been supported by robust yet innovative participatory methodologies and approaches to citizenship and power which engage a range of local and global actors from research, policy and civil society in a range of contexts.

Through research IDS strives towards a world free of social and gender injustice, where unequal gendered power relations are transformed and the rights of all human beings are upheld in ways that both challenge and transcend axes of social difference, including sexual orientation, class, race, ethnicity, religion and disability.

We engage progressive stakeholders and partners across movements, disciplines and domains in the generation of high quality, ground-breaking research and knowledge that challenges gender and sexuality 'myths' and stereotypes, and contributes to transformative policy, practice and activism.

Image: Jerker Edstrom/IDS

Key contacts

Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of James Georgalakis

T: +44 (0)1273 915781

E: j.georgalakis@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Adrian Bannister from IDS Knowledge Services

E: A.Bannister@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alice Webb photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915803

E: a.webb@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alison Ashlin

E: a.ashlin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alison Norwood photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915641

E: a.norwood@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alistair Scott

T: +44 (0)1273 915790

E: a.scott@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Beth Mudford, Communications team

T: +44 (0)1273 915655

E: b.mudford@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carol Smithyes from the IDS Communications and Engagement Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915638

E: c.smithyes@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elaine Mercer, Editorial Coordinator, Bridge

T: +44 (0)1273 915816

E: e.mercer@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Emma Greengrass is the Learning Coordinator within the Open Knowledge and Digital Services unit at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915825

E: e.greengrass@ids.ac.uk

More details
Gary Edwards is the Marketing and Database Coordinator, Communications Team

T: + 44 (0)1273 915637

E: g.edwards@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jessica Meeker is the Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915804

E: j.meeker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: L.Clark@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44 (0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
Poppy Bardwell photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915821

E: p.bardwell@ids.ac.uk

More details
staff

T: +44 (0)1273 915649

E: s.king@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Robinson

T: +44 (0)1273 915763

E: s.s.robinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tracy Zussman

T: +44 (0)1273 915780

E: t.zussman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Vivienne Benson, Administrator, Globalisation Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915653

E: v.benson@ids.ac.uk

More details

Cutting Edge Programme on Gender and Food Security

This BRIDGE Cutting Edge Programme on Gender and Food Security makes the case for a new, gender-aware understanding of food security, arguing that partial, apolitical and gender-blind diagnoses of the problem of food and nutrition insecurity is leading to insufficient policy responses and the failure to realise the right to food for all people. More details

Gender mainstreaming from the ground up for the World Food Programme

A participatory action-learning and knowledge sharing programme to improve WFPs gender-mainstreaming practices. More details

Voices for Change 'Gender Hub'

IDS knowledge-sharing professionals are developing a prototype e-hub for gender experts in Nigeria More details

Engendering Men: Evidence on Routes to Change for Gender Equality (EMERGE)

Our goal is to enable stronger leadership for working with boys and men to promote gender equality. We will do this by gathering, inter-relating and analysing evidence and lessons. These will be strategically disseminated in targeted and accessible formats for improved learning, policy and practice. More details

International Climate Fund: Enhancing Capacity to Deliver on Gender

A partnership between Coffey, IDS and RICARDO AEA has been formed to improve mainstreaming and targeting of women and girls in the International Climate Fund. More details

Cutting Edge Programme on Gender and Social Movements

The BRIDGE Edge Programme on Gender and Social Movements aims to inspire and support collaborative approaches to mobilisation around shared equity and justice concerns. More details

Men, Masculinities and HIV

The Men, Masculinities and HIV project is one of the workstreams of the Gender, Power and Sexuality (GPS) programme, funded by Sida. This work stream aims to influence norms and institutions at global and local levels to more effectively tackle the challenge of achieving gender equality, and particularly looking at the role of men in this process. More details

Highlighting the Invisibility of Unpaid Care

This is a three year project explores why unpaid care work is merited little attention in development policy and programming. We are taking an action learning approach to engaging policy actors on unpaid care, tracking the effects, successes and failures of our policy influencing activities. More details

Sexuality and Local Voices

The Sexuality and Development project is one of the workstreams of the Gender, Power and Sexuality (GPS) Programme, funded by Sida. More details

Sexuality and Development Programme (2007-11)

Supporting the realisation of sexual rights and access to basic services for those facing poverty and injustice More details

Modern Slavery in India and Nepal

We are working on three projects in India and Nepal using participatory methods to better understand the complex dynamics of slavery and bonded labour and to generate and test community-led solutions. More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Sign up for e-alerts

Get e-alerts for updates on Gender and Sexuality

Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: