Green Transformations

The Health and Nutrition Cluster pursues programmes of research and policy engagement on health systems, nutrition and understandings of zoonotic diseases. The focus is on bringing a critical social science perspective to how people, especially the poor, address their health and nutrition-related needs and on how governments and other groups influence the performance of these sectors.

A Bangladeshi mother feeding her children nutrient-rich small fish, mola and leafy vegetables. Photo by Finn Thilsted, 2012.

There are five overall themes that the Health and Nutrition Cluster focuses on:

  • Understanding the political economy of [health and] nutrition (mapping knowledge and narratives; politics and governance; individual capacities and resources
  • Engaging with health and nutrition markets in low and middle-income countries
  • The politics of regulation, health and nutrition in the new knowledge economy
  • Malnutrition and the rising prevalence of non-communicable diseases
  • Health system responses to major outbreaks and (re)emerging infections.

Across these themes, through research and engagement our work aims to:

  • Understand and share how people address their health and nutrition needs in a rapidly changing context
  • Identify the range of stakeholders including government, private organisations and civil society with an interest in meeting these needs
  • Support different sectors and groups to scale up innovative interventions aimed at substantially increasing availability and access to safe, appropriate and affordable food, nutrition, drugs, health and sanitation services
  • Help hold these actors to account for delivery at scale and contributes to mutual learning between countries.

Key contacts

Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nick Nisbett, IDS Research Fellow in the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915839

E: n.c.nisbett@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Amber Huff

T: +44 (0)1273 915735

E: a.huff@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annie Wilkinson

E: a.wilkinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Aparna John, DPhil Candidate, Health and Nutrition Cluster, Institute of Development Studies

E: a.john@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ayako Ebata, Post Doctoral Researcher, Health and Nutrition research cluster

E: a.ebata@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Mitchell

T: +44 (0)1273 915706

E: b.mitchell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Catherine Holley,  Information Officer for the Human Development Resource Centre (HDRC) in IDS Knowledge Services.

T: +44 (0)1273 915756

E: c.grant@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dolf te Lintelo

T: +44 (0)1273 915767

E: d.telintelo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Georgina Powell-Stevens, Programme Coordinator, Directorate and Development Office

T: +44 (0)1273 915737

E: g.powell-stevens@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details

E: h.standing@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Inka Barnett

T: +44 (0)1273 915754

E: i.barnett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jean Pierre Tranchant is a Research Fellow with the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

E: jp.tranchant@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jessica Gordon, Nutrition Evaluation Programme Manager

T: +44 (0)1273 915748

E: j.gordon@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jessica Meeker is the Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915804

E: j.meeker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jody Harris photo

E: j.harris@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Karine Gatellier, Health Convenor in IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915739

E: k.gatellier@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kat Pittore

T: +44 (0)1273 915750

E: k.pittore@ids.ac.uk

More details
Laura Bolton, Research Officer, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915769

E: l.bolton@ids.ac.uk

More details
Leah Murphy is the Health and Education Convenor with the Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915775

E: l.murphy@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Linda Waldman, KNOTS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915685

E: l.waldman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Marks

E: n.marks@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nick Nisbett, IDS Research Fellow in the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915839

E: n.c.nisbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
Rajith Lakshman photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915611

E: r.lakshman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Richard Longhurst, a Research Associate

T: +44 (0)1273 915751

E: r.longhurst@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Samantha Reddin

T: +44 (0)1273 915764

E: s.reddin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Sandra Baxter is Manager for the Human Development Resource Centre, and works in IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915788

E: s.baxter@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shilpa Deshpande, IDS

E: s.deshpande@ids.ac.uk

More details
photo of Shilpi Srivastava

T: +44 (0)1273 915859

E: s.srivastava@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Marsden, IDS research officer

E: s.marsden@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Sophie Valeix

E: s.valeix2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Spencer Henson, Globalisation Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915691

E: s.henson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Stephen Thompson

T: +44 (0)1273 915686

E: s.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Syed Shahid Abbas

E: s.abbas@ids.ac.uk

More details
Tom Barker is the Senior Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915717

E: t.barker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Vivienne Benson, Administrator, Globalisation Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915653

E: v.benson@ids.ac.uk

More details

Strengthening Evidence-based Policy - The Future of Resource/Waste Management in Big Cities of India

The project explores how transformational thinking on resource management could lead to multiple scenarios in the context of emerging economies with a specific focus on India. More details

Development and Management of NAMAs in India

The overall objective of the project is that the Government of India starts using Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Action (NAMA) as one of the mechanisms for addressing climate change mitigation. More details

Impact Evaluation of Swedfund's Poverty Impact

This project addresses the following question: Have the investments undertaken by Swedfund contributed to poverty reduction and, if so, to what extent and how? More details

Green Growth Diagnostics for Africa

This project is looking into the heart of the electricity supply crisis in sub-Saharan Africa. More details

REDD+ and Forest Taxation in sub-Saharan Africa

This research project will map the channels through which REDD+ could impact upon different forest tax systems in sub-Saharan Africa, and develop proposals to increase the probability that these impacts will be positive. More details

Political Economy of Low Carbon Investment in China and India

This project investigates whether and how coalitions of public, private and civic actors influence low carbon investment. More details

Economy-wide Implications of Agricultural Sector Scenario Projections

The aim of this project is to link the world agricultural model IMPACT housed at IFRI with the global multi-region CGE model GLOBE in order to provide quantitative analyses of the wider implications of agricultural sector scenario projections generated by IMPACT for the rest of the economy, and to enable an assessment of the aggregate welfare effects associated with changes in the agricultural sector that include economy-wide linkage effects. More details

The Impacts of Alternative Energy Policies and Energy Price Shocks on Food and Water Security

The interactions between energy and food production are becoming more important as more developing countries have started to increase energy intensity in agriculture and as energy and food prices are increasingly correlated. This project will shed light on these topics across the developing world. More details

China's Emergence as a Global Recycling Hub

This work investigates how China's rise as a global recycling hub affects other countries' prospects for moving towards a circular economy. More details

Global Power Shift and Low Carbon Transformation

Two transformations are likely to dominate the first half of the twenty-first century. One is the shift in economic power from the West (North America and Western Europe) to the East (China and the East Asian production system). The second is the transition from a high to low carbon economy. More details

Who Drives Climate Policies in the Rising Powers?

This project is concerned with the political economy analysis of climate change policies. The central question of the project is who drives/obstructs climate change policies in the rising powers, paying special attention to renewable energy policies. More details

Increasing Transparency in Smallholder Supply Chains: Comparing Approaches to Monitoring Performance of Investments and Private Sector Participation

For this DfID-funded project, we will be providing a synthesis of the types of monitoring, evaluation and data being used by investors and the private sector in agricultural supply chains in a developing country context. More details

Transformative Alliances

Our work looks at the role of public-private-civic alliances as drivers of the green transformation, in particular at the role of business in such alignments. More details

Rent Management: the Heart of Green Industrial Policy

At the heart of green industrial policy is rent management: government creating and withdrawing opportunities for highly profitable investment. This project asks what the key factors are for rent management to succeed. More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this publications search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: