Health and Nutrition

The Health and Nutrition Cluster pursues programmes of research and policy engagement on health systems, nutrition and understandings of zoonotic diseases. The focus is on bringing a critical social science perspective to how people, especially the poor, address their health and nutrition-related needs and on how governments and other groups influence the performance of these sectors.

A Bangladeshi mother feeding her children nutrient-rich small fish, mola and leafy vegetables. Photo by Finn Thilsted, 2012.

There are five overall themes that the Health and Nutrition Cluster focuses on:

  • Understanding the political economy of [health and] nutrition (mapping knowledge and narratives; politics and governance; individual capacities and resources
  • Engaging with health and nutrition markets in low and middle-income countries
  • The politics of regulation, health and nutrition in the new knowledge economy
  • Malnutrition and the rising prevalence of non-communicable diseases
  • Health system responses to major outbreaks and (re)emerging infections.

Across these themes, through research and engagement our work aims to:

  • Understand and share how people address their health and nutrition needs in a rapidly changing context
  • Identify the range of stakeholders including government, private organisations and civil society with an interest in meeting these needs
  • Support different sectors and groups to scale up innovative interventions aimed at substantially increasing availability and access to safe, appropriate and affordable food, nutrition, drugs, health and sanitation services
  • Help hold these actors to account for delivery at scale and contributes to mutual learning between countries.

Key contacts

Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nick Nisbett, IDS Research Fellow in the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915839

E: n.c.nisbett@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Amber Huff

T: +44 (0)1273 915735

E: a.huff@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annie Wilkinson

E: a.wilkinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Aparna John, DPhil Candidate, Health and Nutrition Cluster, Institute of Development Studies

E: a.john@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ayako Ebata, Post Doctoral Researcher, Health and Nutrition research cluster

E: a.ebata@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Mitchell

T: +44 (0)1273 915706

E: b.mitchell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Cathérine Müller, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction research team

E: c.mueller@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Catherine Holley,  Information Officer for the Human Development Resource Centre (HDRC) in IDS Knowledge Services.

T: +44 (0)1273 915756

E: c.grant@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dolf te Lintelo

T: +44 (0)1273 915767

E: d.telintelo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Georgina Powell-Stevens, Programme Coordinator, Directorate and Development Office

T: +44 (0)1273 915737

E: g.powell-stevens@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerry Bloom, Research Fellow of the Knowledge Technology and Society team

T: +44 (0)1273 915667

E: g.bloom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Henry Lucas from Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915675

E: h.lucas@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details

E: h.standing@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Inka Barnett

T: +44 (0)1273 915754

E: inkab@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jean Pierre Tranchant is a Research Fellow with the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

E: jp.tranchant@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jessica Gordon, Nutrition Evaluation Programme Manager

T: +44 (0)1273 915748

E: j.gordon@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jessica Meeker is the Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915804

E: j.meeker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Karine Gatellier, Health Convenor in IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915739

E: k.gatellier@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kat Pittore

T: +44 (0)1273 915750

E: k.pittore@ids.ac.uk

More details
Laura Bolton, Research Officer, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915769

E: l.bolton@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: l.ismail@ids.ac.uk

More details
Leah Murphy is the Health and Education Convenor with the Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915775

E: l.murphy@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Linda Waldman, KNOTS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915685

E: l.waldman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nick Nisbett, IDS Research Fellow in the Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction team

T: +44 (0)1273 915839

E: n.c.nisbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Philip Reed

T: +44 (0)1273 915680

E: p.reed@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
Rajith Lakshman photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915611

E: r.lakshman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Richard Longhurst, a Research Associate

T: +44 (0)1273 915751

E: r.longhurst@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Samantha Reddin

T: +44 (0)1273 915764

E: s.reddin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Sandra Baxter is Manager for the Human Development Resource Centre, and works in IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915788

E: s.baxter@ids.ac.uk

More details
photo of Shilpi Srivastava

T: +44 (0)1273 915859

E: s.srivastava@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Marsden, IDS research officer

E: s.marsden@ids.ac.uk

More details
Sophie Valeix

E: s.valeix2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Spencer Henson, Globalisation Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915691

E: s.henson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Stephen Thompson

T: +44 (0)1273 915686

E: s.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Syed Abbas

E: s.abbas@ids.ac.uk

More details
Tom Barker is the Senior Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915717

E: t.barker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Vivienne Benson, Administrator, Globalisation Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915653

E: v.benson@ids.ac.uk

More details
< previous 1 2 next >

Independent Evaluation of the Reduction of Maternal and Neonatal Mortality in Kenya Programme

An evaluation of a programme in Kenya to avert maternal and neonatal deaths through nationwide life saving skills training for health professionals, and integrated health system strengthening in selected counties. More details

Health Systems Global Communications

IDS is working with Health Systems Global (HSG) to develop communications, share messages and engage with its members and the global community. More details

Ebola: Lessons for development

IDS researchers argue that there is an urgent need to look beyond the immediate, on-the-ground concerns of disease control and containment to consider the bigger and broader questions about international development. More details

Myanmar Pig Partnership

The Myanmar Pig Partnership is focusing on the risks of zoonotic disease emergence associated with the rapid growth and intensification of livestock production in Myanmar in recent years. More details

Livestock, Livelihoods and Health

Livestock, Livelihoods and Health is an interdisciplinary research programme exploring diseases that can be transmitted from wild or domesticated animals to people (known as zoonoses). More details

External evaluation of mobile phone technology based nutrition and agriculture advisory services in Africa and South Asia (mNutrition)

mNutrition is a global initiative supported by DFID, organised by GSMA, and implemented by in-country Mobile Network Operators to use mobile technology to raise the health and nutritional status of children and adults in the developing world. More details

CIFF - Nutrition Advocacy Consortium

In partnership with Results for Development and Results ACTION Partnership, the Institute of Development Studies is part of a consortium that aims to build accountability, strengthen policy and foster leadership in nutrition. More details

Global Nutrition Report

The Global Nutrition Report aims to convene existing nutrition data and processes, highlight progress in improving nutrition status, outline areas for action, and contribute to stronger accountability for nutrition. It provides a fresh perspective on the prevalence of malnutrition, on efforts to reduce it, and on the capacities and data needed to drive such efforts. More details

AgriDiet

AgriDiet is an Irish Aid funded research programme consortium, led by University College Cork in Ireland. The overall goal of the programme is to contribute to poverty reduction through the identification of policies and interventions that can make a positive impact on the nutritional status of vulnerable rural households. More details

Impact Evaluation of DFID Programme to Accelerate Improved Nutrition for the Extreme Poor in Bangladesh

The DFID Programme to Accelerate Improved Nutrition for the Extreme Poor in Bangladesh aims to improve nutrition outcomes for children, mothers and adolescent girls by integrating the delivery of a number of nutrition specific (or direct) interventions with livelihood support provided to extremely poor people by three existing programmes in Bangladesh. More details

Hunger and Nutrition Commitment Index - HANCI

HANCI measures and ranks governments’ political commitment to reduce hunger and undernutrition on an annual basis. More details

HEART (Health and Education Advice and Resource Team)

HEART is a consortium of leading organisations in international development, health, nutrition and education. IDS works together with these organisations to support the use of evidence and expert advice in policymaking. More details

Non-communicable diseases and development: Future Pathways

This project examines the impact of the rise of non-communicable diseases in low- and middle-income countries. More details

Accelerating Progress in Reducing Hunger and Undernutrition

This programme will focus on how agriculture can deliver better nutrition outcomes by developing evidence-based policy options and tools for businesses, governments, NGOs and donors. More details

Dynamic Drivers of Disease in Africa Consortium

A STEPS-led consortium of researchers aiming to advance understanding of the connections between disease and environment in Africa, focusing on animal-to-human disease transmission.. More details

ARCADE RSDH: Asian Regional Capacity Development for Research on Social Determinants of Health

A Consotiurm lead by Karolinska Institutet developing new research training capacity for low and middle-income countries (LMICs) in Asia, to promote research on social determinants of health. More details

Programme Partnership between Irish Aid and IDS on Hunger Reduction and Climate Change Adaptation

Four years on from Irish Aid's landmark Hunger Task Force Report, hunger reduction remains an enormous challenge. This will become more difficult in the context of resource scarcity, climate change, and an increased demand for food in the emerging economies. More details

Operational Research and Impact Evaluation (ORIE) Northern Nigeria

One million children under five die every year in Nigeria, 35% of them due to causes attributed to malnutrition. This makes Nigeria one of the six countries that accounts for half of all child deaths from malnutrition worldwide. In the north of Nigeria, half of all children under five are stunted, and one in five suffers from acute malnutrition. More details

Potential of Mining PPPs to Strengthen Health Systems and Extend Health Services to Underserved Populations

This project has been designed to examine the scope for mining industry public-private partnerships (PPP) to strengthen health systems and extend health services to underserved populations More details

Future Health Systems Research Programme Consortium

Future Health Systems is a research consortium working to improve access, affordability and quality of health services for the poor. More details

< previous 1 2 next >
first < previous 1 2 3 4 5 next > last

Using evidence to transform nutrition

21 Jul 2016
By Ciara Gillespie

Stories of change in nutrition

30 Jun 2016
By Samantha Reddin

Investing in health is not cheap, but it is not a luxury either

25 May 2016
By Sara Bennett, Edward Kelley

IDS Joins the Health Systems Global Team

29 Feb 2016
By Vivienne Benson

What does Zika mean for sexual and reproductive health and rights?

08 Feb 2016
By Maya Unnithan, Hayley MacGregor, Jackie Cassell
first < previous 1 2 3 4 5 next > last

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: