Honorary Associates

IDS recognises the value of having a category of valued professional who will form an association with the Institute and contribute to its future development.

The purpose of the Honorary Associate role is threefold:

  • to enable former staff, when appropriate, to retain an active role with IDS,
  • to attract people who have had a previous relationship with IDS to develop a new relationship with us, and
  • to allow IDS to seek out individuals in the sector, both nationally and internationally, who have something to contribute to the IDS mission. 

The Honorary Associate role differs from other roles, such as the Visiting Fellow role, in that there is a larger remit for Honorary Associates to contribute to IDS; can include people with all levels of knowledge and experience, not just those from within the academic sphere; and can enable a connection without being physically present at the Institute over a defined period of time.

IDS strives for all its Honorary Associates to be active in a clear programme of events and Honorary Associates are primarily considered to fill genuine gaps in existing activities or expertise.

Honorary Associates can contribute in various ways, from giving and attending seminars, mentoring students and employees, providing careers advice, an ambassadorial role, supporting fund raising processes and raising the IDS profile in the media and press. From time to time Honorary Associates might become involved in funded project activities but they would do this on a consultancy basis. The range of activities is broad and flexible and will continue to develop and expand.

Selection of Associates is by IDS approaching individuals who they think may have a valued contribution to make.

Team Members

IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 872932

E: a.cornwall@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Andrew Barnett photo

E: a.barnett@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ashish Chaturvedi

E: a.chaturverdi@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Honorary Associate Ted Jackson

E: t.jackson@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details

E: g.koehler@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: h.bradbury@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Jennifer Grant photo

E: j.grant@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: j.woodhill@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
John Brownlee is the Partnership and Capacity Development Senior Convenor at the British Library for Development Studies

T: +44 (0)1273 915848

E: j.brownlee@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: j.fox@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Kamal Kar photo

E: k.kar@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: l.husain@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lizbeth Navas-Aleman

E: l.navas-aleman@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.robinson@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.wickenden@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS Honorary Associate Mike Morris

E: m.morris@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Rômulo Paes de Sousa, Director of the World Centre for Sustainable Development, the Rio+ Centre and Senior International Associate with the IDS Rising Powers in International Development programme

E: r.paesdesousa@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: s.chaturverdi@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sherman Robinson

E: s.robinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: sc5@soas.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: s.gillespie@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Sufang Zhang photo

E: s.zhang@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: v.johnson@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: x.lan@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details