PhD students

PhD students are part of the IDS community. They have close working relationships between their supervisors, research fellows, the research clusters and research centres working in the same area, in order to enhance the quality of doctoral education.

The PhD community creates a range of platforms to present research at various stages throughout the research degree. IDS PhD day is takes place annually and is open to IDS staff and Sussex University. Studies & Methods Café are organised by PhD Students and they run weekly during the term time. These cafe sessions are combination of seminars, research methods workshops, discussions and informal sessions, tailored specifically for PhD students with a wide range of speakers.

IDS PhD Students are given opportunity to publish special issues of IDS and to publish their work in thematic issues of IDS Bulletin. In the most recent advancement of the IDS PhD programme, students get access to Methods and Methodology week with tailored sessions for research design and research analysis.

Team Members

IDS staff or research student

E: a.vanhemelrijck@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alia Aghajanian PhD student

E: a.aghajanian@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Alvaro Gomes Moreira

E: a.gomemoreira@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Annalena Oppel, IDS

E: a.oppel@ids.ac.uk

More details
Aparna John, DPhil Candidate, Health and Nutrition Cluster, Institute of Development Studies

E: a.john@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Becky Mitchell

T: +44 (0)1273 915706

E: b.mitchell@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Camilla Lindstrom

E: c.lindstrom2@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Dina Zayed

E: d.zayed@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Egidio Chaimite

E: e.chaimite@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Freida M'Cormack

E: f.mcormack@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Gerado Alonso Torres Contrevas, IDS

E: g.torrescontreras@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hani Morsi

E: h.morsi@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: j.aked@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kas Sempere

E: k.sempere@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: k.taela@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Manual De Vera

E: m.devera@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.gingembre@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Matteo Caravani, IDS PhD student

E: m.caravani@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.tauson@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: r.godfreywood@ids.ac.uk

More details
ramy hanna

E: r.hanna@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shilpa Deshpande, IDS

E: s.deshpande@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Sophie Valeix

E: s.valeix2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of SungKyu Kim

E: s.kim@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Syed Shahid Abbas

E: s.abbas@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tamahi Kato

E: t.kato@ids.ac.uk

More details
Thomas Cooper-Patriota photo

E: t.cooper-patriota@ids.ac.uk

More details
Ting Yang Alumni Ambassador China

E: t.yang@ids.ac.uk

More details

View all the PhD students' publications

Use this search to display all these publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.