Power and Popular Politics

Using a power lens on all our work, we examine popular forms of contestation in particular of non-elites.

We seek to pioneer new ways of working with community, activist, academic and professional co-researchers from both the global North and South, using qualitative, ethnographic and action research.

The Power and Popular Politics Cluster focuses on:

  • Critically engaging with voice, accountability and citizenship in conventional and newer spaces, including the interface between the online/offline
  • Exploring through a post-civil society lens organised and non-organised, violent and peaceful social and political action and unruliness
  • Redressing intersecting inequalities with groups rendered invisible by systems of governmentality
  • Investigating the mechanisms of social change arising from global crises and local responses seen through a moral economy lens.

Team Members

Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alison Ashlin

E: a.ashlin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carlos Fortin

T: +44 (0)1273 915608

E: c.fortin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Fiona Wilson

E: f.wilson@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Giulia Mascagni

T: +44 (0)1273 915765

E: g.mascagni2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hani Morsi

E: h.morsi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jethro Pettit from Participation Power and Social Change Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915740

E: j.pettit@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: k.taela@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915617

E: k.miller@ids.ac.uk

More details
Katy Oswald photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915875

E: k.oswald@ids.ac.uk

More details
Lidia Cabral photo

E: l.cabral@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: m.cascant-sempere@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher, Mariz Tadros

T: +44 (0)1273 915829

E: m.tadros@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Marjoke Oosterom, Post Doctoral Researcher with the Participation, Power and Social Change research team

E: m.oosterom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nadine Beard

T: +44 (0)1273 915744

E: n.beard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Patta Scott-Villiers

T: +44 (0)1273 915616

E: p.scott-villiers@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rosalind Eyben

E: r.j.eyben@sussex.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rosemary McGee

T: +44 (0)1273 915738

E: r.mcgee@ids.ac.uk

More details
Talia Jenkin

T: +44 (0)1273 915822

E: t.jenkin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Terry Cannon, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915812

E: t.cannon@ids.ac.uk

More details

Capacity Building for the establishment of an MA in Gender and Development at Cairo University, Egypt

To support Cairo University in establishing and offering a full one-year accredited Professional Diploma or MA in Gender Studies. More details

Innovative Ways in Supporting Decentralised and Democratic Local Governance

The aim of this cooperation with the Swiss Agency for Development Cooperation is to strengthen their Democratisation, Decentralisation and Local Government Network's understanding, learning, and policy engagement in decentralised and democratic local governance. More details

Power, Violence, Citizenship and Agency

The Power, Violence, Citizenship and Agency (PVCA) project is an action research project designed by researchers at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) and carried out with a number of institutional partners. More details

Food Riots and Food Rights

The objective of this research is to improve the prospects for accountability for food security at a time of volatility. This will be achieved through an exploration of the proposition that recent popular mobilisation around food has activated public accountability for hunger. More details

Brazil and International Development Cooperation

Brazil is a founding member of the BRICS group, Latin America's largest economy and the world's sixth-largest economy. The Rising Powers in International Development (RPID) programme is looking at Brazil's growing role in the field of international development cooperation. More details

Life in a Time of Food Price Volatility

Researching the impacts of, and responses to, volatile food prices in poor communities in ten developing countries. More details

Accountability at Local Level in Fragile Contexts

This collaborative project between IDS and HELVETAS Swiss Intercooperation (HSI) was designed to contribute to learning on accountability initiatives in fragile contexts by exploring the dynamics and enabling factors within three ongoing accountability projects. More details

Participatory Approaches to Quality Assurance

This collaboration between IDS and the Swiss Development Cooperation (SDC) aims to bring appropriate participatory methods into quality assurance within SDC. It will also bring new levels of rigour to the principles of participation, poverty orientation and empowerment in the work of SDC and its partners. More details

The Impacts of the Global Economic Downturn on Communities and Poverty in the UK

Economic shocks in the form of record rises in food and fuel prices followed by financial crisis and recession have driven home the significance of global economic interdependence for people around the world. These economic crises have confirmed a sense of global connectedness at a time of high concern about the impacts of climate change, epidemics, and conflict. More details

The Social Impacts of Crisis

How have people and communities experienced recent global economic shocks? In early 2009, the Social Impacts of Crisis project started work in 12 community 'listening posts' in Bangladesh, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Yemen and Zambia to answer this question. More details

Capacity Collective

Exploring and addressing the challenges facing capacity development to bring about change in a purposeful way More details

Champions of Participation

Promoting greater citizen participation in local governance through international dialogue and exchange. More details

Development Research Centre on Citizenship, Participation and Accountability

Exploring approaches that work to strengthen rights and meaningful citizenship for poor people More details

Reflective Practice and Organisational Learning and Change

Deepening individual and collective self-awareness of how our knowledge and values shape our relationships with others More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: