Power and Popular Politics

Using a power lens on all our work, we examine popular forms of contestation in particular of non-elites.

We seek to pioneer new ways of working with community, activist, academic and professional co-researchers from both the global North and South, using qualitative, ethnographic and action research.

The Power and Popular Politics Cluster focuses on:

  • Critically engaging with voice, accountability and citizenship in conventional and newer spaces, including the interface between the online/offline
  • Exploring through a post-civil society lens organised and non-organised, violent and peaceful social and political action and unruliness
  • Redressing intersecting inequalities with groups rendered invisible by systems of governmentality
  • Investigating the mechanisms of social change arising from global crises and local responses seen through a moral economy lens.

Key contacts

Photo of IDS researcher, Mariz Tadros

T: +44 (0)1273 915829

E: m.tadros@ids.ac.uk

More details

T: +44 (0)1273 915616

E: p.scott-villiers@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alison Ashlin

E: a.ashlin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Aly Khalil photo

E: a.khalil@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carlos Fortin

T: +44 (0)1273 915608

E: c.fortin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Cathérine Müller, Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction research team

E: c.mueller@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: C.Anderson2@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Dina Zayed

E: d.zayed@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS PhD research student Egidio Chaimite

E: e.chaimite@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Fiona Wilson

E: f.wilson@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Giulia Mascagni

T: +44 (0)1273 915765

E: g.mascagni@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hani Morsi

E: h.morsi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hayley MacGregor

T: +44 (0)1273 915676

E: h.macgregor@ids.ac.uk

More details
John Gaventa 2017

E: j.gaventa@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: k.taela@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

T: +44 (0)1273 915617

E: k.miller@ids.ac.uk

More details
Katy Oswald photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915875

E: k.oswald@ids.ac.uk

More details
This is the photo of Marcio Pessôa.

E: M.Pessoa@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher, Mariz Tadros

T: +44 (0)1273 915829

E: m.tadros@ids.ac.uk

More details
Marjoke Oosterom

E: m.oosterom@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nadine Beard

T: +44 (0)1273 915744

E: n.beard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Naomi Hossain, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915687

E: n.hossain@ids.ac.uk

More details

T: +44 (0)1273 915616

E: p.scott-villiers@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rosalind Eyben

E: r.j.eyben@sussex.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rosemary McGee

T: +44 (0)1273 915738

E: r.mcgee@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shilpa Deshpande, IDS

E: s.deshpande@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Terry Cannon, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915812

E: t.cannon@ids.ac.uk

More details
Thomas Cooper-Patriota photo

E: t.cooper-patriota@ids.ac.uk

More details
< previous 1 2 next >

Reflective Practice and Organisational Learning and Change

Deepening individual and collective self-awareness of how our knowledge and values shape our relationships with others More details

Capacity Building for the establishment of an MA in Gender and Development at Cairo University, Egypt

To support Cairo University in establishing and offering a full one-year accredited Professional Diploma or MA in Gender Studies. More details

Pathways to Accountability Bargains (part of the A4EA research programme)

This research theme, under the Action for Empowerment and Accountability (A4EA) Research Programme, is concerned with the following question: how can stable and inclusive political settlements (among elites) and a just social contract (between elites and different social groups) emerge that are based on accountable and responsive institutions? More details

Champions of Participation

Promoting greater citizen participation in local governance through international dialogue and exchange. More details

The Impacts of the Global Economic Downturn on Communities and Poverty in the UK

Economic shocks in the form of record rises in food and fuel prices followed by financial crisis and recession have driven home the significance of global economic interdependence for people around the world. These economic crises have confirmed a sense of global connectedness at a time of high concern about the impacts of climate change, epidemics, and conflict. More details

The Role of External Actors (part of the A4EA research programme)

This theme supports the programme in addressing: What are the best ways for external actors, such as donors, NGO’s etc., to support internally led social and political actions or to create enabling conditions that contribute to empowerment and accountability?’ More details

Meanings and Expressions of Empowerment and Accountability (part of the A4EA programme)

This research theme, under the Action for Empowerment and Accountability (A4EA) Research Programme, is concerned with the meanings of empowerment and accountability from the point of view of the people’s experiences and perceptions, and this in turn means for collective action. More details

< previous 1 2 next >

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: