Rural Futures

The big development issues of the coming decades, including inequality, sustainability, exclusion and security, all have specific and critically important rural dimensions.

Ethiopia Tigray Province. Credit: Robin Hammond / Panos

Rural societies, economies and areas face challenges and opportunities that can be qualitatively different from their urban analogues, including limited access to infrastructure, services and political decision-making and greater exposure to environmental shocks and stresses. At the same time, many possible rural futures can be envisaged, which will have major implications for local livelihoods, poverty and social relations, conflict, migration, production and distribution systems, food security, natural resource management and environmental change.

Through our research, policy engagement, teaching and training, the Rural Futures Cluster seeks to support the emergence of pathways that deliver both greater social justice and sustainability for rural people and places, while recognising their important interconnections with urban areas.

We assume that improvements in social justice and sustainability can be achieved by opening up a diversity of economic, environmental and technological pathways, practices, models and institutional arrangements that create new democratic spaces, strengthen social movements, enhance innovation and empower rural men and women to take greater control over their productive assets.

Further, we take it as self-evident that the aspirations, agency, voices and assets of rural people must be a central to these dynamic processes at different scales. Thus, a key focus of the Rural Futures Cluster is to understand how local change processes articulate with those at national and global levels.

Key contact

Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

IDS staff or research student

E: a.vanhemelrijck@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of IDS researcher Amber Huff

T: +44 (0)1273 915735

E: a.huff@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Amrita Saha

T: +44 (0)1273 915757

E: a.saha@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dirk Willenbockel

T: +44 (0)1273 915700

E: d.willenbockel@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dominic Glover

E: d.glover@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Edoardo Massett

T: +44 (0)1273 915807

E: e.masset@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elise Wach, Evaluation and Learning Advisor with the Impact and Learning Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915678

E: e.wach@ids.ac.uk

More details

E: g.koehler@associate.ids.ac.uk

More details
Georgina Powell-Stevens, Programme Coordinator, Directorate and Development Office

T: +44 (0)1273 915737

E: g.powell-stevens@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ian Scoones, Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915679

E: i.scoones@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jim Sumberg, Research Fellow with the Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915833

E: j.sumberg@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jodie Thorpe, Globalisation research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915732

E: j.thorpe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of John Thompson, a Research Fellow in the IDS Rural Futures research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915682

E: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Justin Flynn, Rural Futures Research Officer

E: j.flynn2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Keetie Roelen, Research Fellow in the Centre for Social Protection, IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915824

E: k.roelen@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lars Otto Naess

T: +44 (0)1273 915849

E: l.naess@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lesley White

E: l.white@ids.ac.uk

More details
Lidia Cabral photo

E: l.cabral@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Mar Maestre Morales, Globalisation

T: +44 (0)1273 915724

E: m.maestremorales@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Martin Greeley, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915749

E: m.greeley@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: mlipton@onetel.com

More details
Miguel Loureiro photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915707

E: m.loureiro@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nadine Beard

T: +44 (0)1273 915744

E: n.beard@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nathan Oxley, Communications Assistant, STEPS Centre

T: +44 (0)1273 915826

E: n.oxley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Richard Longhurst, a Research Associate

T: +44 (0)1273 915751

E: r.longhurst@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Stephen Devereux, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915813

E: s.devereux@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of SungKyu Kim

E: s.kim@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tamahi Kato

E: t.kato@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Terry Cannon, IDS research fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915812

E: t.cannon@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Vivienne Benson, Administrator, Globalisation Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915653

E: v.benson@ids.ac.uk

More details
< previous 1 2 next >

Enhancing the Productive Capacity of Extremely Poor People in Rwanda - Evaluation

IDS led the evaluation of the Concern Worldwide graduation programme in Rwanda ‘Enhancing the Productive Capacity of Extremely Poor People’. More details

Impact Evaluation for the UNICEF SCT Project in Oromia and SNNPR

The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) is collaborating with the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) to conduct an impact evaluation of the Social Cash Transfer (SCT) programme in Oromia and SNNP Regions of Ethiopia for UNICEF Ethiopia. More details

African Farmer Game

African Farmer is a free, open source game that simulates the complex decisions and uncertainties faced by small-scale farmers living in Sub-Saharan Africa. More details

< previous 1 2 next >
< previous 1 2 3 4 5 next >

What do food systems have to do with urbanisation?

10 Apr 2017
By Maria del Mar Maestre Morales, Katherine Pittore

IDS Welcomes Matasa Fellows

12 Sep 2016
By Jim Sumberg, Seife Ayele

Results: CDI Community Feedback Survey

06 Sep 2016
By Peter O'Flynn

Rethinking ‘adoption’ in African agriculture

02 Sep 2016
By Dominic Glover, Jim Sumberg

Africa’s structural challenges can’t be solved by “youth innovation”

17 Jun 2016
By Jim Sumberg, Philip Mader, Justin Flynn
< previous 1 2 3 4 5 next >

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: