Future Agricultures Consortium

The Future Agricultures Consortium is a multidisciplinary and independent learning alliance of academic researchers and practitioners involved in African agriculture. We aim to encourage dialogue and the sharing of good practice by policy makers and opinion formers in Africa on the role of agriculture in broad based growth. Collectively we offer a responsive mode of working, so we can engage with policy debates and issues as they arise.

The Consortium involves over 90 senior researchers and post-graduate students from leading African and UK institutions working with a wide range of partners. It receives funding from the UK Department for International Development (DFID).

Regional hubs

FAC Africa is organised as a network of three regional hubs related to the major regional economic communities in Africa (COMESA, ECOWAS and SADC), as well as a fourth hub in Europe.

FAC’s regional offices are in East Africa (Nairobi, Kenya), West Africa (Accra, Ghana), Southern Africa (Cape Town, South Africa) and Europe (Brighton, UK).

Visit the FAC website and view their publications

Key contacts

Photo of Oliver Burch

T: +44 (0)1273 915670

E: o.burch@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of John Thompson, a Research Fellow in the IDS Rural Futures research cluster

T: +44 (0)1273 915682

E: j.thompson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alex Shankland, IDS Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915746

E: a.shankland@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ian Scoones, Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915679

E: i.scoones@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremy Lind

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jim Sumberg, Research Fellow with the Knowledge Technology and Society Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915833

E: j.sumberg@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Lars Otto Naess

T: +44 (0)1273 915849

E: l.naess@ids.ac.uk

More details
Lidia Cabral photo

E: l.cabral@ids.ac.uk

More details
Miguel Loureiro photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915707

E: m.loureiro@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Nathan Oxley, Communications Assistant, STEPS Centre

T: +44 (0)1273 915826

E: n.oxley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rachel Sabates Wheeler

T: +44 (0)1273 915759

E: r.sabates-wheeler@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Stephen Devereux, IDS Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915813

E: s.devereux@ids.ac.uk

More details