Impact Innovation

This programme will assess the impact of new interventions and policy options across a range of policy areas.

The Impact Innovation sub-theme seeks to provide policy makers and development actors with a better understanding of change, why change is or is not happening, under what circumstances, and for which groups of people. With a particular focus on the challenge of evaluation in complex and sensitive contexts, the sub-theme will develop and test a variety of new methods as well as explore the use of existing methods in new ways and new contexts.

Methods and practice papers

The methods and practice paper series provides evaluation practitioners and researchers with access to relevant new ideas and methods, as well as reflections from the field of development evaluation. Four method and practice papers will be delivered per year, comparing, reflecting and assessing the use of different evaluation methods.

Intervention assessments

A major aspect of the work under the Impact Innovation sub-theme is the design and implementation of nine assessments of interventions. The interventions to be assessed will emerge from the work of the grant’s six policy themes, and the assessments will be undertaken collaboratively with the theme teams and partners. These assessments will provide tested, innovative, approaches for evaluating policy contributions to more complex and longer term change processes.

Key contact

Photo of Chris Barnett, Monitoring and Evaluation Advisor with the Impact and Learning Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915625

E: c.barnett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Ana Pueyo

T: +44 (0)1273 915681

E: a.pueyo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deepta Chopra, IDS Governance and Gender / Sexuality Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915808

E: d.chopra@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Dolf te Lintelo

T: +44 (0)1273 915767

E: d.telintelo@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Edoardo Massett

T: +44 (0)1273 915807

E: e.masset@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elizabeth Mills

T: +44 (0)1273 915705

E: e.mills@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Inka Barnett

T: +44 (0)1273 915754

E: i.barnett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jeremey Lind is a Research Fellow with Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915747

E: j.lind@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Jing Gu

T: +44 (0)1273 915692

E: j.gu@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Richard Longhurst, a Research Associate

T: +44 (0)1273 915751

E: r.longhurst@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rosemary McGee

T: +44 (0)1273 915738

E: r.mcgee@ids.ac.uk

More details