Knowledge and Communications for Development

Strategically mobilising evidence and analysis so it can inform and shape development policy, practice and discourse is integral to what we do at IDS and our unique ‘engaged excellence approach’.

Our reputation

We have a strong reputation for high quality and impactful knowledge exchange and policy and research communications across a wide variety of project and programme work funded by donors including government agencies, multilateral organisations, private foundations, businesses and NGOs. 

Our expertise

Our team of experts bring particular experience and expertise in the following areas:

  • Evidence into Use – including strategic research uptake and policy analysis
  • High quality research communications products designed for maximum  impact.
  • Programme-focused digitally-enabled knowledge exchange products and best practise
  • Monitoring, evaluation and learning

Our approach and our values

We seek to work in close collaboration with our partners from the inception to the successful delivery of projects and programmes.

Fundamentally our work is based on the principle that decision-making and practice will ultimately be more effective where it demands, and is informed by, good quality, contextually relevant evidence.

We work in partnership, through networks and consortia, to bring together a diversity of engaged stakeholders to co-create, share, mobilise and evaluate the impact of this evidence. We hope that through our approach we can address the inequalities that exist around the production and sharing of knowledge for development and bring about real change in people’s lives. 

Key contacts

Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of James Georgalakis

T: +44 (0)1273 915781

E: j.georgalakis@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

Photo of Adrian Bannister from IDS Knowledge Services

E: A.Bannister@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alan Stanley from IDS Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915776

E: a.stanley@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alice Webb photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915803

E: a.webb@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alison Ashlin

E: a.ashlin@ids.ac.uk

More details
Alison Norwood photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915641

E: a.norwood@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Alistair Scott

T: +44 (0)1273 915790

E: a.scott@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Beth Mudford, Communications team

T: +44 (0)1273 915655

E: b.mudford@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Carol Smithyes from the IDS Communications and Engagement Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915638

E: c.smithyes@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Deborah West

T: +44 (0)1273 915688

E: d.west@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Elaine Mercer, Editorial Coordinator, Bridge

T: +44 (0)1273 915816

E: e.mercer@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Emma Greengrass is the Learning Coordinator within the Open Knowledge and Digital Services unit at IDS

T: +44 (0)1273 915825

E: e.greengrass@ids.ac.uk

More details
Gary Edwards is the Marketing and Database Coordinator, Communications Team

T: + 44 (0)1273 915637

E: g.edwards@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Hannah Corbett, IDS Communications

T: +44 (0)1273 915640

E: h.corbett@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jessica Meeker is the Nutrition Convenor, Knowledge Services

T: +44 (0)1273 915804

E: j.meeker@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Kelly Shephard, IDS Open Knowledge and Digital Services Unit

T: +44 (0)1273 915795

E: k.shephard@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: L.Clark@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Peter Mason

T: +44 (0)1273 915820

E: p.mason@ids.ac.uk

More details
Poppy Bardwell photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915821

E: p.bardwell@ids.ac.uk

More details
staff

T: +44 (0)1273 915649

E: s.king@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sophie Robinson

T: +44 (0)1273 915763

E: s.s.robinson@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Tracy Zussman

T: +44 (0)1273 915780

E: t.zussman@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Vivienne Benson, Administrator, Globalisation Team

T: +44 (0)1273 915653

E: v.benson@ids.ac.uk

More details

GODAN Action - Enabling practical engagement with open data in agriculture and nutrition

GODAN Action brings together agriculture and nutrition specialists and open data experts and will support GODAN in its mission by building people’s capacity to engage with open data More details

The Impact Initiative

Four year initiative that will seek to maximise the impact of research funded by the ESRC DFID Strategic Partnership. More details

A Demonstration Project: How Active Data Can be Shaped and Provide Strong Evidence-Based Programming

In an attempt to make better use of what is available, IDS is leading on a pilot programme which examines sets of participatory and systemic data with a view to increase understanding of how data is collected, analysed and shared in development programming. More details

Cutting Edge Programme on Gender and Food Security

This BRIDGE Cutting Edge Programme on Gender and Food Security makes the case for a new, gender-aware understanding of food security, arguing that partial, apolitical and gender-blind diagnoses of the problem of food and nutrition insecurity is leading to insufficient policy responses and the failure to realise the right to food for all people. More details

Social Science in Humanitarian Action: a Communication for Development Platform

The Social Science in Humanitarian Action: A Communication for Development Platform aims to establish networks of social scientists with regional and subject expertise to rapidly provide insight, analysis and advice, tailored to demand and in accessible forms, to better design and implement the social and communication dimensions of emergency responses. More details

Gender mainstreaming from the ground up for the World Food Programme

A participatory action-learning and knowledge sharing programme to improve WFPs gender-mainstreaming practices. More details

Voices for Change 'Gender Hub'

IDS knowledge-sharing professionals are developing a prototype e-hub for gender experts in Nigeria More details

Ebola Response Anthropology Platform

Anthropologists from around the world providing advice on how to engage with crucial socio-cultural and political dimensions of the Ebola outbreak and build locally-appropriate interventions. More details

Global Open Knowledge Hub

The Global Open Knowledge Hub (GOKH) aims to improve the supply and accessibility of content that supports evidence informed policy making and practice by development actors. More details

Interactions Eldis Website

Interactions is an IDS-hosted interactive online resource on Empowering Women and Girls, featuring real-time research and analysis. The website features up-to-the minute research findings and policy analysis on gender-based violence, urban health and unpaid care work from IDS and partners More details