Governance

The Governance research cluster identifies the following sub-themes of research to ensure citizens are represented and governed fairly in a world of changing state authorities.

Right to Food campaign, Jharkhand

Taxation

Understanding how taxation affects the quality of governance has implications for social justice, inequality, sustainability and security at both global, national and sub-national levels. The International Centre for Tax and Development is globally the leading organisation in its field.

Politics of Public Policy

Our research focuses on how state-society interactions influence state structures, as well as the shaping and implementation of public policy. Concepts that our work engages with and pushes further include: political settlements, political commitment, capacity of state and non-state actors in policy formulation and implementation, and the role of states in enabling collective action and accountability.

Non-State Actors, Criminality, Hybrid Governance

Increasingly, state actors are only one part of a diversity of actors exercising public authority, particularly in locations where state institutions are weak and where there is insufficient control over territory. Our research will discover how non-state actors, competitors to the state for governance, actually gain legitimacy and are able to exercise and retain authority.

Decentralization and Local Governance

Despite waves of decentralization in many parts of the world we do not yet understand the conditions under which local and decentralized governance can deliver on its promises of effective and locally accountable public authority. While the theme is an old one, we will expand our work in this area particularly in relation to conflict and insecurity as well as local politics.

Key contact

Photo of Anuradha Joshi, IDS researcher

T: +44 (0)1273 915710

E: a.joshi@ids.ac.uk

More details

Team Members

IDS staff or research student

E: am.goetz@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Anuradha Joshi, IDS researcher

T: +44 (0)1273 915710

E: a.joshi@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rebecca Carter

E: r.carter@ids.ac.uk

More details
Dr. Caitriona Dowd, Research Fellow in Conflict and Violence cluster at IDS.

T: +44 (0)1273 915703

E: c.dowd@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Camilla Lindstrom

E: c.lindstrom2@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Caroline Martin, Governance Team Administrative Coordinator

T: +44 (0)1273 915713

E: c.martin@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: c.colclough@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of David Leonard

E: leonard@berkeley.edu

More details
Photo of Deepta Chopra, IDS Governance and Gender / Sexuality Research Fellow

T: +44 (0)1273 915808

E: d.chopra@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Edoardo Massett

T: +44 (0)1273 915807

E: e.masset@ids.ac.uk

More details
Elena Zambelli, Research Officer for the Governance research cluster at IDS

E: e.zambelli@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Emilie Wilson

T: +44 (0)1273 915779

E: e.wilson@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: f.santoro@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Fiona Wilson

E: f.wilson@emeritus.ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Florence Dafe

E: f.dafe@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Giulia Mascagni

T: +44 (0)1273 915765

E: g.mascagni@ids.ac.uk

More details
Jalia Kangave, IDS research fellow

E: j.kangave@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Mick Moore, Professorial Fellow with Governance team

T: +44 (0)1273 915715

E: m.moore@ids.ac.uk

More details
Miguel Loureiro photo

T: +44 (0)1273 915707

E: m.loureiro@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: p.houtzager@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Rhiannon McCluskey

T: +44 (0)1273 915654

E: r.mccluskey@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Robin Luckham

T: +44 (0)1273 915712

E: r.luckham@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shandana Mohmand

T: +44 (0)1273 915720

E: s.mohmand@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Shilpa Deshpande, IDS

E: s.deshpande@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Sohela Nazneen

T: +44 (0)1273 915609

E: s.nazneen@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Talia Jenkin

T: +44 (0)1273 915822

E: t.jenkin@ids.ac.uk

More details
IDS staff or research student

E: t.harrison@ids.ac.uk

More details
Ting Yang Alumni Ambassador China

E: t.yang@ids.ac.uk

More details
Photo of Wilson Prichard

T: +44 (0)1273 606261

E: w.prichard@ids.ac.uk

More details

Innovative Ways in Supporting Decentralised and Democratic Local Governance

The aim of this cooperation with the Swiss Agency for Development Cooperation is to strengthen their Democratisation, Decentralisation and Local Government Network's understanding, learning, and policy engagement in decentralised and democratic local governance. More details

Growth and Equal Opportunities for Women (GrOW)

The 27-month 'Balancing unpaid care work and paid work: successes, challenges and lessons for women's economic empowerment programmes and policies' project aims to create knowledge about how women's economic empowerment (WEE) policy and programming can generate paid work that empowers women and provides more support for their unpaid care work responsibilities. More details

Evidence and Lessons from Latin America (ELLA)

Evidence and Lessons from Latin America' (ELLA) is a knowledge sharing and learning programme, that seeks to improve knowledge of Latin America's development among African and Asian policymakers, practitioners and researchers - on selected economic, environmental and governance issues. More details

The Governance of Service Delivery

A new partnership between the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and IDS has been formed with the aim of supporting SDC’s ‘Democratisation, Decentralisation and Local Governance Network’ (DLGN) between 2012 and 2014. IDS’ contribution will seek to improve DLGN’s effectiveness and impact of policy strategies and operations. More details

The Political Economy Determinants of Policy Implementation: The Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA) in India

The IDS led strand of the project will address the role of state capacity and elite commitment in explaining NREGS implementation through qualitative methods at two different levels of analysis. More details

Undernutrition and Public Policy in India

This research seeks to inform and influence the current state of debate in India on the issue of malnutrition and food security. More details

Tax revenue mobilisation in developing countries

Why did taxation (re-)establish itself recently as a priority issue in the international debate after decades of living in the shadows of other, apparently more pressing, themes More details

External Monitoring and Evaluation for the Wohl Livelihood Development Programme in Ukraine

This is an evaluation project to assess the effectiveness of the World Jewish Relief’s four-year Wohl Livelihood Development Programme (LDP) in Ukraine. More details

Global Drug and Development Policy Roundup

The Roundup aims to develop recommendations to increase the engagement of the international development community in policy discussions and activities to tackle the illlegal drug trade. More details

Analysing Nutrition Governance

The project examines what factors enable governments to commit to national nutrition strategies and deliver appropriate nutrition policies in the long run. More details

Strengthening core state functions to mitigate and prevent different manifestations of violence

In the context of exploring the dynamics and logics of violence and responses to it by the state and the international community, Nigeria and Sierra Leone make interesting case studies. These case studies are part of the Addressing and Mitigating Violence programme, which focuses on 'newer' forms of violence and organised crime as well as the changing dynamics of long-standing situations of violence More details

State Fragility and Rural Development

This project for the GIZ considers the specific challenges posed by state fragility in selected countries (Afghanistan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Yemen, Nepal and Bolivia) to inform the agency's development cooperation strategy. More details

Home Grown School Feeding Mali

This study aims to evaluate the impact of school feeding programmes sourced from small-holder farmers on small-holder food security, as well as on school children's education, health and nutrition in Mali. More details

View all Research Cluster's publications

Use this search to display this cluster's publications and filter by journal, theme, country and much more.


Subscribe to this research cluster's blog

Get the latest blog posts to your email inbox

Enter your email address: